The function that you should disable in Google to improve your security

The Function That You Should Disable in Google to Improve Your Security

Read Time:2 Minute, 13 Second

In terms of personal data security, one of the most important variables is the location recorded by the different smart devices. In relation to this, the function that should be deactivated is the location history of Google Maps.

Next, we will tell you how to do it and we also offer other alternatives to consider.

Google Maps, location history and security controversies

At this point, most likely everyone knows that Google, through the GPS system that each device has, can detect the movements that a user makes and create a history with them.

In relation to this, the controversy is presented by the destination of the information obtained, that is, the use made of the data in question.

Thanks to functions such as “Chronology”, the Google Maps application makes available the location history that each user has, specifying the points visited and traveled up to days and hours.

For the peace of mind of users, Google informs that the data obtained is not shared with third parties and that it is filtered by anonymization technology.

However, to avoid any kind of suspicion, there are alternatives so that the record of the locations is not left and also to erase the history of the past.

In principle, what you have to do is deactivate the “location history” function of the application. Once done, you can also proceed with the one that allows you to delete all the history in question.

How to disable the “location history” function in Google Maps?

The specific steps for this procedure may vary as some devices may not have the most up-to-date version of this application.

However, it is possible to draw a general step by step to deactivate the function that records each of a person’s movements.

For this, what you have to do is enter the app and go to the “Your chronology” section. Once inside it, go to “Settings and privacy” (by selecting the three vertical dots that appear in the upper right sector of the screen), then to “Location history is activated” and, finally, deactivate the function in question.

Regarding the registration already made, under the item “Location history is activated” is the one that allows “Delete all location history”.

Finally, it is important to note that there are at least 2 alternatives to take care of security through other methods.

One of them consists of making use of the incognito mode that the Google Maps application allows.

Another method, much more general, is to directly deactivate the location from the smartphone settings. Of course: with this option you will not have access to it either from Google Maps or from any other application.

 

Happy
Happy
0 %
Sad
Sad
0 %
Excited
Excited
0 %
Sleepy
Sleepy
0 %
Angry
Angry
0 %
Surprise
Surprise
0 %

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *